Sun jar project…

Finished another project today, the sun jar 😀  This one turned out really well for a first attempt.  I used a solar garden/pathway light and an empty pickle jar (they were delicious btw).

After removing the solar/led assembly from my dollar store light, I cut a hole in the jar lid and hot glued the solar panel to the top, leaving the LED to hang below inside my jar.  At the hardware store, I picked up some colorless matte spray paint that was rated for use with glass and applied three coats to the jar.  As a final touch, I slid a purple plastic drinking straw over the led to give it a colored glow and diffuse the light a bit.

Over the next few weeks, I hope to make a few more in a variety of colors.  Total cost for this one was around 8 dollars, but half the cost was the paint, which should be enough for maybe a dozen jars.

I might add some kind of a diffuser to the bottow of the jar to eliminate the ‘hot spots’ of light on the next jar, but it seems fine without it…

About danson247

American living in Germany. View all posts by danson247

Leave a Reply

